Primary School

Relationships. Wellbeing. Achievement.

Curriculum for Wales

Following a comprehensive curriculum review, the Welsh Government has developed an exciting new curriculum that aims to create a successful and exciting future for all the children and young people of Wales.


The new curriculum is a continuum of learning for children from 3 to 16 years of age. There will no longer be ‘phases’ or ‘stages’, with all children learning along the same continuum.

From September 2022, the way children and young people learn in schools will change, to prepare them better for a changing world. Schools will create their own curricula within a national framework, adapting the content to make it more relevant and meaningful to their learners.

Parents/Carers guide to the new Curriculum for Wales

Four Purposes


Central to the new curriculum are the four purposes. These four purposes are the same for all learners along the continuum and underpin all teaching and learning in Wales. The four purposes of the curriculum are the shared vision and aspiration for every child and young person. They guide and direct everything we do at Lansdowne Primary School. The four purposes are at the heart of our new curriculum. They are the starting point for all decisions on the content and experiences developed as part of the curriculum to support our children and young people.


The new curriculum will include: 

  • 6 Areas of Learning and Experience
  • 3 Cross-curricular responsibilities: literacy, numeracy and digital competence
  • 5 Progression Stages at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16
  • Descriptions of learning which outline expected achievements at each Progression Stage

Click on the images below for more information on each of the six Areas of Learning and Experience


Expressive Arts Health & Wellbeing Humanities


Language, Literacy & Communication Mathematics & Numeracy Science & Technology